I made a coming out cake.

Posted on September 30, 2012

0


Is that too tacky? Even if you think it is, it’s still delicious. My housemate and I had a lot of fun mixing the food coloring into the cake mix, and trying to figure out how to get it into jars. I decided to change my Facebook “interested in” on October 11, on National Coming Out Day. I wanted to also add a cover that would show I am no longer going to attempt to hide or ignore my sexuality. Instead of just grabbing a generic rainbow flag, I wanted to make it personal. I had been hanging onto the Rainbow Cake link for a while so I decided to try it out today. One of my housemates got involved, others asked questions, and I told people about my history as a gay Christian, starting with my past as an “ex-gay.”

The cake turned out yummy, but less visually inspiring than I had hoped. I’m going to show some pictures of the process below.

I encourage everybody to come out. I love the Harvey Milk Quote, ““I know that you cannot live on hope alone, but without it, life is not worth living. And you…And you…And you…Gotta give em hope.”

Coming out lets all your family and friends know that “those gays” have a face, and it’s yours. I think that people who are otherwise judgmental and incapable of evolving on the gay issue can open up a lot when they realize they know a gay person.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Posted in: Coming Out