A reminder of marriage inequality

Posted on September 28, 2012

0


I went on a genealogy trip a few days ago. My great-grandfather was born in Holmes County, and I wanted to see if I could find his birth record, and some other records proving what I had learned about him and his ancestors online.

I was in the Probate Court, looking through an old, handwritten log of births when a man, woman, and a toddler came  in. I kept looking through the book (which was no in order by name or date).

After a while I heard the clerk asking the couple if they were related closer than a degree of 2nd cousins. The woman said something like, “Eww, no!” I felt a little embarrassed, as my own parents are second cousins. I wonder sometimes if that is why I have diabetes, but neither of my siblings do, and some relatives of ours (whose parents aren’t close cousins) have 3 out of 4 kids with diabetes.

She continued with the questions – are either of you currently married, have you recently consumed alcohol, are you high. Eventually she seemed to run out of questions and asked if they knew of any reason they should not be married. I wanted to jump in and make a point by saying, you didn’t ask if they are opposite gender! I felt “less than” for a moment. Looking back, I suppose I should have been happy for them, embarking on one of life’s great adventures, but I was being a little selfish, a little jealous.

I want to live in a place that doesn’t have this in their State Constitution:

Only a union between one man and one woman may be a marriage valid in or recognized by this state and its political subdivisions. This state and its political subdivisions shall not create or recognize a legal status for relationships of unmarried individuals that intends to approximate the design, qualities, significance or effect of marriage. Ohio Constitution, Article XV, Miscellaneous – section 11 Marriage Amendment

Posted in: Political