Coming out… Again

Posted on July 30, 2011

1


I guess every gay knows that coming out is a process, or an endlessly repeated event. For a former ex-gay, informing friends and family of the new development is like coming out again. I’ve only done this second coming out with a few friends so far.
I spent most of this weekend with my closest friend from college (who knew me as an ex-gay), and his wife. I sort of did an update with him and a coming out to her because I trust them. He and I have had our different opinions, and we know how to love each other without always agreeing with each other.
The others that I have re-come out to are of a similar nature. They are men and women who obviously have a passion and zeal for God, and who are able to be friends with a person, and not belittle or snub them, in spite of differing opinions.

I am wrestling with the idea of doing this with my parents, but they have a very personal vision for my life, which probably still includes me getting married to a woman.

Also, most people in my home church still don’t know I’m gay, and I don’t want to hide anymore. I want to work on Church and LGBT reconciliation, but I feel it is necessary for me to come out first, and I don’t think it will go over well.

I’m typing this on an ipod, so I’m going to cut it short and leave the spelling errors.

Have any of you felt like you’ve ever had such a swing in your views that you had to do something like my re-coming out?
Post me a link to your coming out story.
Alternative option for straight allies: post a link to your favorite coming out story (youtube or blog or whatever).

Posted in: Coming Out